ABOUT

如何達到有效溝通?

當您問您的孩子他今天在學校如何,或是當您問他關於他的朋友的事時,總是得不到沒有回應。 然後,您繼續問他「你好嗎?」 他可以背誦式/機械式的回答「我很好,謝謝。」 在內心深處,您知道他是在沒有真正理解這個問題的背景情況下記住了治療中的這個劇本式的反應。 但不管您用麼方式問他,您都只是為了得到他的回應。

 

 

大多數人會認為他們的溝通方式是有效的,只要雙方是有用口語在溝通。 但它真的是有效的溝通嗎? 它真的是有意義和有目的性的溝通嗎?

 

 

在與 ASD 兒童溝通時,父母真正希望和渴望的是與孩子的真正互動連結和參與,而不是一些標準的劇本式的答案。

 

 

為了達到有效的溝通,我們希望父母能知道,語言上的互動並不是溝通的唯一基本要素。還有非語言的交流(臉部表情、手勢、眼神接觸、身體動作)。我們應該考量到的是與孩子進行的是否為有效的溝通。更重要的是,為了促進與 ASD 兒童的有效溝通,我們的溝通方式很重要。

 

 

以下有一些要素可幫助您釐清觀念,確保您的溝通方式對您和您的孩子是有效且有意義的。

幫助參與

當我們開始與孩子交談或互動之前,我們要先確保有引起他的注意。可以慢慢靠近他、輕拍他的肩膀或手,並呼喚他的名字邀請他加入。一旦你得到他的關注,互動就會變得更加有效和有意義。

Read More

注意時機

假設孩子過於專注於某項特定活動,或者目前處於情緒失控的狀態(悲傷、憤怒、不知所措)。在這些情況下,都不是開始與孩子進行任何形式互動的合適時機。我們要確保孩子準備好結束他的活動,或者在與我們互動之前已經調節了他的情緒並平靜下來。

Read More

減化語言

降低語句的長度,嘗試簡化我們的句子或單詞,盡量簡化以避免兒童混淆,可以幫助孩子更聚焦。有時少即是多。與其說「你能幫我把這個放在洗衣機裡嗎?」,我們可以改成「把它放進洗衣機裡。」

Read More

放慢速度

讓孩子有足夠的時間可以思考及回應。當我們在做一項活動或與孩子互動時,與其用背靠背的指令和動作轟炸孩子,我們可以放慢步伐和速度。當我們放慢速度時,我們會給孩子時間和空間去思考、分析和回應。

Read More

主客體差異(不同的觀點)

不要以自我中心為空間參照,盡量使用無法改變的參照點作為參照。例如:將「這棵樹就在你的右邊」改成「這棵樹在那堆落葉旁邊」。改變視角是幫助孩子從不同的角度看待事物的好方法。

Read More

分配活動角色

當我們和孩子一起進行活動時,我們可以分配角色,讓孩子知道他在互動中的責任。例如,在製作牛奶時,孩子可以拿著瓶子,而媽媽則將奶粉倒入瓶子中。當孩子有一個角色時,他有一個明確的方向來為你的活動做出貢獻。

Read More

減少記憶需求減少要求

例如:當選項太多時,減少選項至三個甚至兩個。要求並簡化孩子的行動。我們可以讓孩子以較少的要求取得成功。當活動中的要求太多時孩子無法承擔,我們要減少要求並簡化我們要求,讓孩子能有機會成功。

Read More

維持動機

當我們與孩子互動時,我們希望確保他理解以保持他的動機,避免過度困難而讓他失去動機。

Read More

協助轉移

如果孩子正在做一件事,要先請他暫停,再讓他轉移到互動上。如果他正在玩玩具或是看電視,最好預先告知他在 3-5 分鐘內結束活動。你可以說「再玩三分鐘積木,我們就一起收積木。」透過這種方式,我們尊重他的界限,而不會突然拿走他正在玩的玩具。

Read More

拆解步驟

當任務很複雜時,把每一個步驟都很明確地寫下來或提供視覺化的圖示,將動作分解成更小的部分或步驟,可以幫助孩子更好地理解。

Read More

示範

有時候,我們重複很多次說明,孩子還是可能會感到困惑和難以理解。在這種情況下,我們可以介入為孩子示範。但需留意,您不是要直接幫孩子完成這件事。而是示範後,再讓孩子自己嘗試。

Read More

陳述性語言

在 RDI 中,我們希望多使用陳述性語言(動態溝通)與孩子互動。我們可以減少問問題、下指令和提示,使用更多參與經驗的分享式溝通~經驗分享的溝通方式。

Read More

使用所有感官

當我們交流時,我們可以包括使用我們的感官來體驗與孩子分享我們的感受。我們可以分享我們聽到、看到、聞到、嚐到和触摸到的東西。在某種程度上,我們邀請孩子進入我們的世界,體驗我們的感受。

Read More

此時此地

談論關於現在現在情境中,可以察覺的訊息,不要要求孩子去想他們無法覺察的。我們要把重點放在互動的過程而不是活動的結果。當我們太著重在我們想達到的目的時,我們無法好好與孩子享受在活動過程中。

Read More

講述具體事情

例如:將「那個在森林中的小徑很可愛」改成「那個小徑被很多葉子覆蓋」。用我們所看到的畫面來和孩子分享,取代我們常用的習慣性用詞,例如:我們常說故事書中的兔子好可愛喔!改成具體的描述成~兔子被好多的葉子覆蓋在身上!牠好像快要被淹沒了。

Read More

ABOUT

How to Communicate Better?

You asked your child about his day at school. You asked him about his friends. But, there were no answers. Then, you proceed to asking him "how are you?" He answers "I'm fine, thank you" robotically. Deep down you know he memorised this scripted response from therapy without really understanding the context of this question. But you asked anyway just to get a response from him. 

Most people will think their communication style is effective as long there's verbal exchange between two parties. But was it really effective? Was it meaningful and purposeful? 

When communicating with ASD children, what parents really wished and longed for is the genuine connection and engagement from their child. Not some standard scripted answers.

 

To achieve effective communication, we want parents to know that Verbal interaction is not the only essential element in communication. There's also Non-Verbal communication (facial expression, gesture, eye contact, body movement) we should take into account for effective communication with children. More importantly, to promote effective communication with ASD kids, HOW we communicate matters.

 

Here are some tips to help ensure communication style is effective and meaningful for you and your children.

Invitation

When we initiate a conversation with the child, we want to make sure we have his attention first before talking to him. Tapping on his shoulder or hands and calling his name is a good way to invite him into our conversation. Once you have his attention, interaction will become more effective and meaningful.

Read More

The Right Timing

Suppose the child is too engrossed in a specific activity or is currently in an emotional dysregulated state (sad, angry, overwhelmed). In that case, it is not the right time to initiate any kind of interaction with the child. We want to make sure the child is ready to end his activity or has regulated his emotions and calmed down before interacting with us.

Read More

Simplify

We can try simplifying our sentences or words, keeping it minimal to avoid confusion in children. Sometimes less is more. Instead of saying "can you help me put this in the washer", we can try "put in washer."

Read More

Slow Down

When we're doing an activity or interacting with our child, instead of bombarding the child with back-to-back instructions and actions, we can slow down our pace and speed. When we slow down, we give the child time and space to think, analyse and respond.

Read More

Different Point of View

A change of perspective is a good way to help the child see things from a different point of view. We want to encourage out-of-the-box thinking and let the child engage in dynamic appraisal. For example, instead of "the tree is on your right side", we can change to "look at the tree, the leaves are falling."

Read More

Assign Roles

When we're doing an activity with the child, we can assign roles to let the child know his responsibilities in an interaction. For example, when making milk, the child can hold the bottle while the mom pours the powder into the bottle. When the child has a role, he has a clear direction on contributing to the activity with you.

Read More

Reduce Demands

When the child feels overwhelmed by the activity, we can reduce the demands and simplify the action for the child. We can set the child up for success with lesser demands. 

Read More

Motivation

When we interact with the child, we want to make sure he understands and keeps his motivation going. Hence, our communication style has to be fluid and dynamic.

Read More

Transition

If he is busy with his toys or screen time, it's better to pre-inform him that you'll be ending the activity in 3-5 minutes. You can say "Lego is going to end in 3 minutes. Then we will clean it up together." In that way, we are showing respect to his boundaries without taking the toys away abruptly.

Read More

Breaking it Down

When the activity gets too complex or difficult to understand, we can break the action down into smaller parts by drawing or writing it down to help the child understand better.

Read More

Demonstrate

Sometimes no matter how much we repeat our instructions, children may still find it confusing and hard to understand. In that case, we can step in to demonstrate it for the child. Be mindful that you're not doing it for the child. After demonstrating, you can let the child try it by himself. 

Read More

Declarative Language

In RDI, we want to increase declarative language (dynamic communication) more with our child. We can lessen our questions, instructions and prompts, and engage more in experience sharing kind of communication style.

Read More

Five Senses

When we communicate, we can include the use of our senses to experience share our feelings with the child. We can share what we hear, see, smell, taste and touch. In a way, we are inviting the child into our world to experience what we are feeling.

Read More

Here and Now

We want to focus on the here and now with the child. The process is more important than the result. When we're preoccupied with the expectation we want to achieve; we won't be able to enjoy the activity with the child.

Read More

Narrate Instead of Label

Instead of engaging in a static communication style like labelling what we see, we can narrate what we see into a story. For example, instead of “the bunny is so cute”, we can tell it into “oh no, the bunny is being covered by lots of leaves! She must be suffocating!”

Read More